Happy New Year To All!

I hope you all have had a fantastic Holiday Season and now that the New Year, 2008, has arrived, I hope we all have a tremendous year!

The posts have been few and far between here in December and I know I have received a few comments on it. Hopefully January will be a little less hectic, at least on the personal life side of things, and I will have a greater opportunity to sit down and write some more. I have a few things to cover in a couple of posts, some things that have been requested of me, since I have been being so lazy with writing here lately. I hope to get to these things in the coming days.

Since my last post there has been so much happening. From awesome concerts to traveling to be with family, new babies being born to birthday parties and other family gatherings, even my band was in action and we all had to deal with the roads that have been often times very slick and treacherous due to all the snow we seem to keep getting.  It’s been busy and exhausting to say the least and now that the hectic times seem to be wrapping up personally, January is the busiest month of the year at work. We have our huge push in January to start the year off with a big bang and it is going to mean some long, busy days at the office. Seems things will stay busy after all.

In the midst of all of that I have been giving some thought to if I want to commit to a New Years Resolution or two. I typically don’t partake in that yearly ritual, but I have a few goals I would like to achieve and just have not decided how badly I want to reach them and when I want to start trying. A couple ideas for my “resolution” are making a commitment to practice music for at least 1 hour a day/3-4 days per week, eating dinner at home a minimum of 4 times per week, setting up an aggressive savings plan to get rid of existing debt as soon as possible, sitting down to write for at least a little while every single day, or even just continuing to get stricter with myself on following my weight loss plan that I had started back in December.

I have almost too many different options and I am not sure what I want to really focus on. Maybe I should get extra ambitious and just focus on all of them at once. Make this year a bit of a step in a new direction. As backwards as it sounds you could say I am changing things up to break the routines I am in now, by essentially creating new routines that are a little more refreshing. Maybe not so much as changing routines to create new ones, more of a refinement process of my current routines to get rid of wasted time and get more out of my free time.

Now when I say that, I don’t mean in terms of relationships between Omega and I, my family and I or any of my friends and I. When I am talking about breaking out of current routines I am talking about things like watching less TV so I can have more time to spend getting better with an instrument, be it drums, guitar or even my newest thought of teaching myself to play piano. I just wanted to make that clear because I can honestly say that I am extremely satisfied and happy with how all of my relationships are sitting right now and I wouldn’t change a thing in that department. In those regards I am a very, very blessed man to have such an amazing wife, wonderful family and a strong inner circle of friends that are very supportive no matter what I want to do.

Anyhow, I just wanted to wish you all a Happy and Amazing New Year!

Let’s all look forward to big things in 2008!

Leave a Reply

