As the world turns….

Or something like that anyways.

Just a brief weekend wrap-up/preview of the upcoming week.

Home last friday night and watched the Vikings defense dominate in a preseason win over the Jets, visited a bit with my parents later in the evening and then came home. Saturday found Omega and I meeting up with my parents and my sister’s family at the Minntac Company picnic. That was a good time. I still can’t help but think how nice it would be as a company to have enough money in to just shut down all of Ironworld for a private party. Anyhow, Omega and I left there at around 1 or 1:30 roughly and she headed over to Hoyt Lakes to visit with our family over there while I headed up north to the South Switch, near Cook, where I came out of rock and roll retirement for the debut of Attaboy.

Attaboy is the band that Than has put together, consisting of Than on guitar and vocals, Liam on bass (switching off with Than at times to guitar) and myself helping with some of the vocals and of course, drumming. Going into the gig I admit I was a bit unsure. I felt like I really didn’t care if I played in a band or not.  I also was a little curious to see how this would all play out since prior to taking the stage on saturday evening, the three of us had not played as a group together even once. No rehearsal, just jumping in and going for it. Granted, Than and I have played together in the old band and Than and Liam have played together over the years, but as a group we had never played together.

Can you see why I was a bit apprehensive about the situation? Needless to say, it went well. It actually pretty much rocked the house and we are already being asked to play some additional gigs because of how well it went on Saturday. So that was pretty cool and I had a lot of fun. I think more than anything it got me to be okay with life after the ‘Snakes, so that I realized that I can still have fun playing in a totally different group.

Don’t get me wrong, I have no intentions of jumping back into playing every single weekend like we used to. I think in a perfect world we would play maybe once a month. Just enough to have fun, makes some extra cash, but not have to tie up all of my weekends. Than and I talked about maybe trying to get things set up on sort of a once every 3 weeks deal, which would be okay I think also. It would just depend on the weekends and what I had going on.

Most importantly though, I got to be home with Omega for most of the weekend, except Saturday, which I needed greatly. I do want to mention that while I was away at training last week Omega took it upon herself to “remodel” the bathroom. I admit that when she told me on the phone earlier last week what she was doing I thought that maybe she was getting into a project that was a little too big for her to handle alone, as well as too big for our budget. By the time I got home last Friday evening though, she was just putting the finishing touch on the paint and it was about done. Let’s just say it was stupid of me to worry about it because it looks great! She did a wonderful job giving our bathroom a much needed facelift! To that I say to Omega, sorry for worrying about it and having doubts. You did a fantastic job and it looks great! Thank you for making our home look a little better! Love you 😉

So anyways, that was my weekend. I am all packed and ready to go now for another week of training in Duluth. I will be leaving town in probably an hour or so, just have to stop and get a haircut quickly then Omega and I are going to grab some dinner before I head out of town.

If I get a chance I will post some more over the week, otherwise I will get something up next weekend when I am home again!

Have a good week!

2 thoughts on “As the world turns….

  1. Aww…aren’t you two such a cute couple. :p I hope you guys are around this upcoming weekend (25/26) – Nik and I are coming up to hang out and get my rubbermaid tubs since I’m moving next weekend. See ya then!

Leave a Reply

