Training Update

As you know, this past Monday August, 13th, I started my new career as a Personal Banker at Wells Fargo Bank. To give you just a brief update from my hotel room, at The Radisson in Duluth, I’ll hit the basics before I head off for bed.

Monday was spent at my new office in the Hibbing location. The better part of the morning was spent going through an unofficial orientation with my new manager. Had a big tele-conference at 1pm where we had our official orientation with some fine folks in the Greater Lakes region Wells Fargo HR department. After that there was a brief round of introductions to my new co-workers in the Hibbing office and then it was off to go pack and drive to Duluth to get checked into my room and get ready to attend my first real day of training.

This morning, Tuesday, I woke up at 6:30 and grabbed breakfast in the scenic rotating restaurant on top of the Radisson. Yes, it actually rotates around the building and from what I overheard one of the waitstaff telling another customer, it takes about 17 minutes to fully rotate around the whole building. It is quite an impressive view as the sun was still low in the sky over the big lake. From there is was off to training, which is just a short 2 1/2 block walk away from my hotel. As for training itself, there was a heck of a lot of info thrown at us this first day, most of which I either knew something about already or was able to get the gist of pretty quickly. All in all I think things went well and even though there is much more to learn, I look forward to soaking in everything I can.

I do have to say that although I have only been down here basically one day, I already feel like it’s going to be a long 8 weeks. I miss my wife, I miss being able to relax in my own home in the evenings and did I mention I really miss my wife…. I’ll quit whining about it here in a second, but I just don’t like being away from her. Whether it is to talk to in the evenings or being curled up next to her, listening to her snore on and off, when we go to bed at night.

Let’s just say I will be a happy, happy man when this 8 week stretch is finished.

Anyhow, that is the quick lowdown on the how the new job and training is going so far.

One side note I should add….Wells Fargo must be trying to make me gain about 40 pounds, as if I needed to gain even 1. They give a very generous food reimbursement allowance and were adamant in making sure I use every penny of it. The only good news is that now I can afford to go out and eat those high priced, healthier meals in the nice restaurants instead of the usual Taco Johns or Subway!

I will try to update more as the weeks go on, however I may spend a bigger portion of my time trying to work on a collection of writings I want to get down in regards to our families hunting/fishing/outdoor adventures. I will also try and give a report of how my first gig in about 2 and a half years went. It is coming up this Saturday at the South Switch in Cook, MN. It should be fun/interesting as we have not practiced at all really and we are totally throwing this thing together to see what happens. I hope it goes well and that we all have fun, even if we botch things up here and there, because maybe it will re-ignite the passion I once had for performing. Sadly though, as of this moment I just don’t feel the same as I used to about playing, but it will come. I think I was just burned really bad with the old situation and it left a very bad taste in my mouth that is going to take quite some time to get rid of.

That’ s all for now……Can’t wait to get back to my normal 150 North territory and get settled into my new position!

2 thoughts on “Training Update

  1. Believe it or not, one week I lost like 5 pounds while I was in training for WF. I guess without realizing it, I was on the Atkin’s Diet…I ate steak every single night. In fact, I was craving steak so bad that week that I booked my room at the Hawthorne Inn & Suites…which just so happens to be in the same building of the Timberlodge Steakhouse. BTW, don’t forget to try Erbert’s and Gerbert’s for lunch while you’re there.

Leave a Reply

