A new project, perhaps?

I probably have too many little projects floating around my head right now, but there is one that concerns this blog so I think it’s only fair to share that with you.

WARNING: The following idea is probably going to be absolutely stupid and pointless to anyone other than me! Proceed with caution and at your own risk.

What I am thinking about doing is picking a topic, be it a person, thing or object, place, event or whatever, and devoting a specified period of time to researching it as much as I can. I haven’t decided if it will be a weekly thing, monthly thing or even a daily thing. I guess it just depends how ambitious I feel. I do think that daily would be a bit too much as I just don’t always have time every day to research something.

Anyhow, after I do my digging and research I plan to post my findings up here. Almost in a mini-report fashion. My hope is that I will learn something and be able to share some fun or interesting knowledge with you as well, and yes I realize that it would be learning a bunch of stuff that could fall under the “useless trivia” category.

That is where you come in. I am having a little trouble deciding on a first topic, so I would appreciate some suggestions. I only ask that whatever topic you suggest is somewhat narrow, for example where did the cheese slicer originate or how did the Minnesota Vikings come to be. I don’t/won’t and can’t devote enough time to a subject that is too broad, for example what is the origins of the United States or simply talk about the Civil War.  Not that those topics would be off limits, just that you would need to narrow it down a bit. Maybe along the lines of what was a day in the life of a Civil War soldier like or what were the common weapons used by the early settlers of the United States.

You get the idea at all or are you sitting there thinking to yourself “I can’t believe this idiot wants to do something like this. Not only that but he put it up here for me to read about AND he even expects me to help offer ideas??? This is 5 minutes of my life I can never get back.”

Hopefully it makes a little sense to you and maybe, just maybe you don’t think I am a complete idiot for this idea. Heck maybe you will even be a touch interested to see what I find out??? I can hope, right?

So please comment with any and all ideas that you think you would like to learn a little more about with me doing all of the research on it for you and then giving a nice little report right back here at 150 North. I think that a monthly topic would be good and I may narrow it down to a weekly or bi-weekly “special feature” here on the site. It just depends on if I can come up with some fun ideas for topics, both from my brain and yours, as well as how much time I have available to do the research, which will predominantly be online and through the local library.

4 thoughts on “A new project, perhaps?

  1. i think it is an awesome idea and will be fun to read. but sorry i don’t have a ideas. oh wait. how about sleep terrors for toddlers!!!

  2. Well…. I believe I need to know where lotion was first developed and who made it. 🙂 You know, like… Vaseline Intensive Care kind of lotion.

  3. Thanks for the input! Some fun ideas here that I can get to work on. We’ll see what I find out!

    Thanks for helping me out there!

Leave a Reply

