It’s better than 40 Below Zero….I think

It has been hot and humid lately and I keep having to remind myself that it is better than having it 40 below zero. Yet, even though it seems that we just barely got away from that cold weather, I struggle with the heat like we have been having. Although I know that as summer progresses it is only going to get hotter….hopefully.

I guess I wouldn’t mind it so much if we had air conditioning in our house, mainly our bedroom, so that I could sleep at night. When it is warm like this I just can’t sleep. I think I only have averaged about 4 or maybe 5 hours of sleep each night this week because I just can’t sleep when it is this warm. It doesn’t help that for some reason my head sweats way worse than any other part of my body and most of the night while I am trying to sleep I just feel the sweat rolling off my head and drenching the pillow or blanket, which I admit, sort of grosses me out. Gonna have to get Omega to start washing our bedding about once a week so we aren’t both sleeping in a stinky, sweat crusted bed. Ok, it isn’t that bad really, but when it is about 4 in the morning, I can’t sleep and I have to get up in 3 hours these thoughts roll through my mind and everything seems worse than it really is.

Maybe this is my time to persevere through a tough time, as Pastor Derek talked about in church this weekend. The sermon focused on James 1:2-18, which starte in verse 2-4 by saying ” Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance. Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.”

It was a very good message for the week that has stuck with me strongly. I find it to be a passage that carries a strong reminder for myself each and every day. Not that I have some huge, devestating situation to face every day, but even with the little things it helps to remember those words and believe in them. Although I admit that I don’t know what God’s plan is for me that requires me to sweat like a pig while I am trying to sleep and because of that be unable to sleep very well. Who knows, maybe he is preparing me for a million dollar trip I am going to win to spend a full year in the Bahama’s or something! hehe

All that matters is that God knows what his plan is for me and that’s all I need to know. Even though it would be nice sometimes to know why he has us go through certain things, all we need to do it trust in Him and believe that it will work out according to his master plan in the end.

After all, that’s we He is God and we aren’t, right?

Leave a Reply

