Spring has arrived

I am hoping that I am not proven wrong again because of yet another “false” spring. The weather over the weekend and so far this week has been fantastic but that is not why I am convinced winter is behind us.

Tonight while driving home from a movie I pulled up to an intersection in town that had a little bit of a swampy spot off to my left. As I stopped I started to panic because I was hearing a very strange noise and my first thought was that my car was breaking or something. So I rolled down the window and gave a listen, only to discover the source of the sounds.

Frogs. Yes frogs. They were croaking away in that little tiny patch of swampy grass and I couldn’t help but smile. It is a sound very welcome to the ears. Not just because it meant my car wasn’t broken, but because it meant spring is here and summer is not far off! I will even go so far as to say that it was a sound that I missed, although I didn’t know I missed it until I heard it again tonight.

Spring has arrived.

Leave a Reply

