Biggest candy bar I have ever seen in person!

Today I stopped in a Super America Gas station in Grand Rapids to pick up a little chocolate milk treat for myself and as I was checking out I witnessed the biggest candy bar I have ever seen in person…well except for those giant hershey chocolate bars they sell at walmart around certain holidays.

The culprit was an old classic type of candy bar, the traditional Pearson’s Nut Roll candy bar. These are the ones that have a nougat center and then are covered in caramel and then peanuts all over the outside. Turns out they have quite a history which you can read all about here at

the official website for the Pearson’s Nut Roll.

Pearson’s Nut Roll

Anyhow as you can see at the web site, the normal size of these candy bars is about 1.8 to 2.5 ounces. They are about the same size as a typical Snicker’s bar. Pretty typical. They also have their “king size” version which weighs in at about 3.5 ounces. That is about the same size as a normal “king size” candy bar as well.

However, the candy bars I saw today on display at the check-out counter were called the “Giant Sized” Pearson’s Nut Roll. I think it said it was about 7 or 8 ounces but I kid you not, this thing looked to be about the same size as a standard brick. We’re talking about 6 or 7 inches long by about 4 or 5 inches wide and about 3 inches tall. That is just a guess on the size, but the thing felt like it was about 2 pounds! It was just massive. My first thought, which I expressed out loud to the joy of the cashier, was “Oh my god. That’s huge. Is it real?” He just busted out laughing and then we had a brief conversation about how ridiculously big that was. I was trying picture buying that candy bar and getting out into the car and opening it up so that as I drove off down the highway I could basically gnaw on a huge brick. You would almost have to break or cut it into pieces! The best part is it was only a little over a dollar to buy according to the cashier. They didn’t have any price tag on them so I couldn’t verify that, but I will take his word for it.

With candy bars getting that big, it’s no wonder that we here in America are all getting fatter and fatter. I think the cashier said it best by saying….

“It’s nuts! Things are getting way out of hand.”

One thought on “Biggest candy bar I have ever seen in person!

Leave a Reply

